top of page

Figure Sketches

We learned a few tips and tricks for drawing figures from Kelvin. All of these are very useful for very different reasons.



The first technique we learned was all about using lines to describe the body before going into detail. The idea is to get an idea of what you're trying to draw before going ahead and drawing the full body. It's all about understanding how the body can curve and follow movements and be manipulated by multiple factors.


I had a lot of fun with this one, as it was something I had never tried before. I found it very useful, yet something I need more practise on. I think I did well for only being given 2 minutes on each figure.


The second trick we learned was proportions. Proportions are important to getting an accurate body. Proportions are also useful when drawing more cartoony characters, it'll just be on a different scale.


The final activity we did was using the skills we'd gotten from the previous exercises and using them to draw a still model. We had 15 minutes to do this, and when I first started doing this the proportions were all wrong.


I corrected them over the next ten minutes, and by the end it came out looking more human than I expected. The reason I say this is because I don't enjoy drawing realistic looking people. I'm happy with how the piece turned out, though.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page