top of page

Python Tasks 1-3

Updated: Jun 10, 2019

Today I managed to wrap my head around the coding language of Python. It took a lot of sitting around and google searches, but I managed to complete the first 3 tasks and have a read through of the 4th.


Before starting, I reminded myself of some important coding techniques and methods to help myself, as this is my weakest subject. Iterators and for loops stumped me at first, but after doing a bit of coding they are starting to make sense. An iteration in coding is a list, or a set of instructions, so the iterator is the thing that creates those instructions. It's hard to explain, but that's as close as I can get. A for loop is a lot simpler. A good way of explaining it is if I say that I have to get three projects done before I can go to lunch, I have to check every time to make sure I've finished one before moving onto the next. Only when all of them have been completed can I go to lunch. It's a loop of code that will let nothing pass until it's met the requirements of the for loop.



The 1st task was all about how to make a calculator that will calculate the area of a triangle correctly. Using basic input commands and multiplication and divisions. By the end, the answer will appear if done correctly (which took me a few tries).


The 2nd task was on how to make strings of text that will appear, and various interactions with the program. I had to use if-else commands to make the answers the program gave different depending on the answer. This was a lot of fun, thinking of all the things this could be used for.


The 3rd task took me a lot longer than all the others. It was about how to create a random selection system with two different lists. We were making a 'Compliment Generator', however at a few moments I was slightly annoyed with myself. It took me a while, but I eventually fixed it after I realized what I had done wrong. It was very satisfying to be given a compliment at the end of it.


At the end of the day, I learned a lot, and shall continue to work my way through the tasks (the 4th task looks like it's going to be a lot of fun).

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page