top of page

Witch texturing

Updated: Jun 20, 2019

We learned how to get a net into photoshop and how to blend and shade things to give it texture.


One of my favourite things to do was shading the smaller areas and making them seem like something they're not. For example, I coloured a gem in both of the earrings, and gave it a gleam to seem as if it's shining (in reality, the texture doesn't look shiny).


I also created a moodboard to keep in mind what kind of feel I wanted the witch to have, and how it would be conveyed through the texture. I took basic colours and textures to make it simpler.


One thing I struggled with, and couldn't work out was how to view to the texture on Maya. However, I know this will be a thing that should be easy to learn.



We copied the UVs and put them into photoshop to learn a way to texture it. the colours came along with it, so all we had to do was create a new layer, adjust the colours, and paint in the details.



I had a lot of fun creating the earring and giving it an interesting design. I found it easy to shade in the ear, as the UV showed where the primary lines and ridges on the ears was. Unfortunately, I ran out of time before I could finish this, but I still enjoyed it regardless. Although it's a long process, if a game has the type of graphics you could create in photoshop, this is very useful.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page