top of page

3D Modelling - Postmortem

Over the course of the 3D Unit, I've learned a lot about modelling. 3D Modelling was something I'd previously done on the NextGen Course, but this unit has given me a chance to expand my knowledge on modelling and the process that goes into creating an asset. For example, I've now learned that planning fully before modelling is a far more efficient way of working. This was one the first things I learned in this unit, and helped me tremendously when creating the revolver, which was by far the most challenging model, and required me to spend far more time on it than the others.


I made a few mistakes while modelling, and things such as topology were difficult for me to fix later. This is something I struggled with a lot in my revolver model, and meant I had to go back and add in edge loops to smooth it out. I also ran into this problem with the tower model, but thankfully I'd learned a few things from first modelling the revolver. The door model was the one I created last, and was the easiest to create because I'd already used the software for months by then.


Some things I also learned was that simple geometry is the best way to create models. Originally, I was incredibly intimidated by the thought of using a programme like Maya, as I thought it was complicated and that I wouldn't be able to learn the software. Looking at modelling from the point of view of geometric shapes, the process was made far easier, as I realised I could just use the basic tools I'd already learned about to create complex items like a revolver. Once I took on this mindset, Maya became far less intimidating and far more usable for me.


That isn't to say that this project has allowed me to 'master' the programme, as I still get stuck on how to create shapes and use slower processes that I could've done in a different way far faster. But this unit has helped me gain a lot of confidence in using and understanding 3D Software, as well as texturing and UVing models.


Sadly, texturing is something I didn't get to do in this unit. I'm really disappointed about this, as I'm sure I would've had a blast and created something amazing. This is something I hope to do by the end of this academic year, although I do not know when.


Overall, I enjoyed learning about processes of 3D Modelling, as well as the different components of textures maps, which is something I had a lot of fun researching. I also had loads of fun researching into the history of 3D Software and texture maps, which gave me more knowledge on how to tackle texturing in the future. Texturing and texture maps are also linked to character design, which is something I hadn't thought about before. With this link, researching this subject has become far more intriguing.


All the knowledge and experience I gained from this unit has ultimately broadened my view of the Creative Industries, and given me more of an idea as to how pipelines in different industries are structured, and how the software and processes they use can effect this.

Comments


bottom of page