top of page

Autodesk Mudbox and Model Resolution

Autodesk Mudbox is a programme similar to Maya. However, it is far different than Maya, as the user can sculpt a model rather than precisely modelling it in Maya. There are many tools that can be used to transform simple models and even to add more detail to a model in the form of normal maps.



I started by making a cube and exporting it as an fbx file. I then put it into Mudbox and started adding subdivisions. By adding subdivisions, I can grab the vertices and move them around. With this cube, almost anything can be made, so using the tools in Mudbox, I can easily create a monster/alien.



I turned on 'mirroring' which meant that I could only edit one side and the other would match. So, using the Grab Tool and adding more subdivisions, I gradually sculpted an alien.



I started using the Pinch Tool to create spine-like extrusions on the alien's head.



These tools can also be used to indent, so I created some eyes for the alien, which I based off Japanese Samurai masks, which have large holes in them for eyes.



I then started using the Wax Tool, which helped to uplift some of the geometry. I started pinching in and adding more depth with each new level of subdivision. I also used the Bulge Tool to exaggerate the spines on the head.



After a few more layers of subdivisions and used a few more tools. I decided to indent the cheeks to add definition and focus to the eyes, and to also make it look less 'human.' I also added these indents to the back of the alien's head.



After adding one last subdivision layer, I was finally happy with the alien I'd created.



I saved the project twice (one with the highest resolution and one downgraded a few subdivisions) and then brought it back into Maya. This way, I can use the lower poly model, but have the higher quality one as a Normal/Bump Map. This required me to create UVs, which I just did automatically.



Then, with both models selected, I then applied it as a Normal Map. I had some trouble with applying the Normal/Bump Map. I'd like to experiment with the more in future, as there are many other tools in Mudbox that I've yet to try out. This would also be a quick and easy way to create Normal/Bump Maps for models without having to spend hours on it.


Some of the other tools I want to experiment with are the Foam, Spray and Knife, which I didn't get a chance to use.


More tools in Mudbox:



 

Resolution is something to consider with every model, and must be planned for depending on what the model is being made for. For a game asset, a model will be low poly, but have Normal Maps to make up for lost detail. They also have all the UVs in one part of the grid, which can make the texture resolution a bit lower. The screenshots above are a process that could be done to create such assets.


Models for a VFX shot, however, are far higher in quality, and can have normal maps applied on top of that. Since VFX involves real-life footage, it's only natural that a model needs to look as realistic as possible to create an immersive experience. To obtain this, UVs are spread out across multiple shells to give the textures more resolution.


As a final word, models can also be 3D printed, which has requirements as well. These models would have to be incredibly high in detail, usually with whatever Normal Maps they had applied being converted into geometry. This is so that no detail is lost in the model. The models vertices are then presumably used as coordinates for where a machine can cut and carve. Alternatively, 3D printing can work in reverse, and the model can be built up a millimetre at a time.


Here's the source I used for 3D printing:


Comments


bottom of page