top of page

Game Demo and Feedback

Although I wasn't able to create a completed game, I did create some of the key mechanics in Unity and created a build using them. View the video below to see how my game works:



In this video, I demonstrate how my game functions inside of Unity, and how it functions as it's own separate build. I thought it was important to demonstrate both because of the things that can't be seen in the build of the game. For example, the console pops up with a message whenever one of the 'potions' collides with the 'cauldron', but this isn't visible in the build, so it's hard to tell that anything is happening.


This also marks the end of the creation of my game. I unfortunately didn't create much due to time constraints and my lack of experience and knowledge on how to code. This is something I planned for when I decided to go with a completely different spin on my original idea.


This game was targeted towards the casual gamer market, so many of the features of the game are simple in concept. The functions already in the game matched the ones that I didn't get the time to add (these are discussed in a previous post, which is linked later in this post).


 

Feedback:


I had some of my family members test out the build of my game. I got good reactions from all who played it, which is good. Some family members also had fun messing around with the physics of the cubes in the game. I also asked them where they would like the game to go next, either paying attention to the game design document, or in a completely new direction. These are the responses I received:


  • One idea was to have the cubes merge together to mix colours and create bigger shapes.

    • Another response with a similar idea to this was to have a cauldron that changed colour depending on the colour of the potions added. This is a bit too complicated for me to create without many different assets, but this idea is closest to something that would be in the game if I went along with my Game Design Document.

  • Two people stated that changing the shapes of the assets of the squares would be an interesting change. This means having something like a triangle, circle and rectangle in the mix would make the physics of the game more fun.

  • Having something displayed on screen when the potions collide with the cauldron (much like the console in Unity).

  • The most feasible idea, which is closest to my Game Design Document game, is to change the assets to be potion sprites. This is something I had hoped to do, but unfortunately I ran out of time with the project, and instead decided to just continue working with the simple colour blocks I had been using in Unity.

  • A final idea I got was to add in audio to the game. This would mean thumps or thuds when the cubes collide with each other and the ground, and when they're thrown in the cauldron (a splash).


It was interesting to hear how I could go about adding things to my game next. I was also caught a bit off guard by what people in my family wanted to see in my game next. Some of their ideas of what to add next that didn't relate to my Game Design Document. I have thought about what I would add to my game next in another post:


Click here to see the post


In this post I talk about the hypothetical next steps I would take in this project. I have considered many different things that need to be implemented in my game for it to be complete, but one thing I didn't fully consider was what the assets would look. I could have the various potions bottles be different shapes to further distinguish them from each other.


Since I already planned to have the bottles colour coded, then this change could make the ingredients easier to identify next to each other. This could also go along with the idea of audio, which could be slightly different depending on each of the potions. This could also be a randomised affect, which could be applied to all the potions.


Taking this feedback into account, my prototype reads well to an audience, and people had fun with it regardless of its stage of completion. It was also interesting to hear how other people would further develop this game, and what they would've wanted to see this game become. If I'd had more time on this project, these definitely would've been things I could experimented with in Unity.

Comments


bottom of page