top of page

Game Design - Initial thoughts and brainstorming

To start off the idea phase, I created a mindmap of my initial ideas. This was a blend of brainstorming and forcing relationships between some of them to create something new. The combination games in the top part of the map were added later.



I found that drawing was a good way for me to generate ideas, so I just spent a few hours in Photoshop sketching and coming up with variations on the ideas that I already had. I had worries that my ideas were too complex, so I simplified them down to create something that will be far easier to code. The only issue I can find with this new idea is that it makes the game far less compelling and challenging, as there's no timer in this iteration. I'll go more in-depth into the second iteration in another post.


I started out by brainstorming a few strong ideas, which I listed out to the left, right and beneath the centre of the mindmap, and then listed out all the attributes of each of them, even listing out some of the pros and cons. I then started trying to combine ideas, as seen in the idea for a colour riddle game. My second combination idea utilised attributes from all my original ideas, and creating something I thought would be more interesting than the previous ideas.


However, the idea I concocted was too unachievable in my opinion, so I reiterated it, simplifying it with basic mechanics to make it achievable. I had an easier time mindmapping my ideas rather than forcing two ideas together.


A good way of coming up with plausible ideas is to think about what these ideas will be used for. For example, in this project, the idea will eventually be a game, so taking into account what kind of game would be easiest to make is a good place to start. Unfortunately, this is incredibly limiting, so this doesn't have to be done. Alternatively, brainstorming every idea possible and then sizing the ideas down to the correct proportion is also a good way of working.


Brainstorming and forced relations generates more experimental and sometimes unusual ideas, in my experience, whereas mindmapping yields more grounded and connected results. This is mostly due to everything being laid out in one place, which helps me focus on the current task and funnels my train of thought towards it. I think it's important to have a mixture of experimental and rational ideas, as these can then be mixed together to create something with both of these qualities.


This marks the end of the ideas phase, and the next task is to create a Game Design Document for my ideas.

Bình luận


bottom of page