top of page

Looking into Screenwriters and Composers

A Games Writer is a role in the Games Industry that I'm interested in, and as such, I made sure to do my research into a similar role, the Screenwriter. Since a billing block usually features a screenwriter, and it's a role I'm interested in, I made sure to take extra with it much like when looking at potential Concept Artists.


Naturally, being a Games Writer and a Screenwriter is largely different, as games are interactive and movies are not, but there are many parallels between the two roles.


Without much guidance on what I was looking for in a Screenwriter, I looked for epic adventure film writers, and stumbled upon an interesting pattern. Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo Del Toro all worked together on The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings movies, which means that they can well together and with others to create fantasy adventures films.


However, I felt that choosing all of them was too much of an 'easy way out,' so I decided to look into more options. I looked into Christopher Markus, who has worked on titles such as the Narnia Trilogy, various Avengers films, various Captain America films, and also Thor: The Dark World. I liked that he'd worked on the Narnia Trilogy, and also action-packed blockbusters in the MCU.


However, I eventually settled on Guillermo Del Toro, as he's also capable of working on things separately, and has created successful films.


On the subject of Composers, I wasn't originally sure whether to add this role on a billing block. However, given that the soundtrack and audio are half of the experience, I thought it was appropriate to add in.


My original instinct was Hans Zimmer, however, much like the the Screenwriters of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings trilogies, I felt like it was too much of a cop-out. Instead, I went and looked at the Composers of fantasy movies that I'd enjoyed the music of.


This included Carnival Row, The House with a Clock in its Walls, Alice through the Looking Glass and many others. I eventually settled on Nathan Barr, the Composer of both Carnival Row and The House with a Clock in its Walls, which I felt fit the environments they were about perfectly.

Comments


bottom of page