top of page

Robot texturing

Updated: Jun 20, 2019

Texturing my robot was one of the only things I needed to do left, so I focused on that today. After fixing all of my crazy UVs and making sure everything was okay with my model, I exported it out and loaded it up in Substance Painter.



Before I could export it out I had to assign different materials to each part of my model. the main body, arms and legs are all going to be one texture; the hands, feet and shoulders will be another; the spine, neck, joints and eyes will be another, and the lens will be another. While assigning the material to the main body, arms and legs, I forgot to select the 'wrists', so I had to go back and create another group for it. However, as it will have the same texture, it isn't that big of an issue.


All of the model is the same material except for the lens, which I assigned a shiny material to make it more realistic. After I'd checked all of the materials, I exported it off to Substance Painter.


I remembered to look back at my original reference, to see if there was anything that could help me. But I'd already changed the design of the robot slightly in my mind. I originally wanted to have my robot be vaguely steampunk in style, with a warmer colour pallet, but I decided later to have it be more futuristic to fit in better with the footage we'd be rendering it into.



I had a hard time deciding what the material I should use. I went with a plastic body, to make the robot look like it could be in the real world. I never wanted to create a post-apocalyptic robot, as it would look out of place with the camera footage we'd be using. So I went with a light grey plastic, and a dark grey plastic for the hands, feet and shoulders. The joints, spine and neck are metal, but I made sure the metal looked clean, so it, again, wouldn't look out of place.


As I'm still not strong with my texturing skills, I decided not to add a normal map to it. I also felt that the model didn't need it, as the design was supposed to look clean-cut. Having smaller details might make it look too intricate.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page