top of page

Storyboarding - Synoptic Project Cutscenes

Updated: May 19, 2020

This is the storyboard I created for the cutscenes in our Synoptic Project. I decided to do both cutscenes, as there will only be two.


These are the images on paper. When I drew them out, I realised storyboarding would be complicated, as some images pan in strange ways.



These are the scripts I wrote out, with the different images labelled out next to them. It made storyboarding a lot easier, as it was something I'd already considered ahead of time. I'd also made charts of all the images I'd need, and all their specifications.


This is a UI board, and I made sure to put all the characters featured in the cutscenes on it. I didn't include any locations, as they either haven't been designed yet (for example, the Dojo is the tutorial level), forests are too generic to design, and some of the images don't have locations.


Some shots are pans, so I decided to only include the view that would given at the beginnings and ends of these. This is also done on the next page of the First Cutscene.



Because I decided that the storyboards should only demonstrate the parts of the images in the shot. Because these images can get to be large, I made sure to have two pages dedicated to explaining how certain pans are going to work.



The second cutscene is shorter than the first, so it only takes up eight panels, which is less than I anticipated.


I also made a another page for the Second Cutscene, but with this one I added more design elements. For example, although only one enemy will be in the game, the others will be featured in the two cutscenes. I created the colour pallets for all of them.


Overall this will be incredibly useful to refer back to while creating the cutscenes, and a good reference for art style for the rest of the project.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page