top of page

Synoptic Project - Character Board

Updated: May 19, 2020

Character boards are used to not only create, but explain characters. Concepts can be put on a character board as well. The main use for them is to display a final version of a character, and explain any things about the character that aren't necessarily featured in their design.



These are some pencil sketches. I thought it was important to include these to show how the drawing started.



This is a character profile about Lady Daiyo. I had fun imagining ways to give her character more depth than the Synoptic Project would give her.



This is the full character board with everything in colour, and some reference images in the bottom left. I also made myself a colour pallet to use.



This is another version of the character board, this time with the text more visible. It's more detail on the process I took to consider all the design elements of Lady Daiyo.


From this min-project, I've come to enjoy creating character boards. They allow me to use my writing, drawing and story telling skills to achieve one goal, which something I always want to do more of. One thing I would've liked to try was colour colours. I settled on them quickly, but I'm curious as to what other combinations would look like.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page