top of page

Synoptic Project - Pitch and Forethought

Since the synoptic project is the biggest in the year, it's only natural that I wanted my pitch to go well. We were given three options on what project we wanted to pitch: a short VFX movie, a short Animation, or a simple game. I decided to pitch a game idea, as that is one of my main passions. Coming up with new and exciting ideas is my passion in general.


It gave me the chance to use my creative skills, while also working within certain guidelines. This is an important skill to learn, because if someone is asked to pitch a game for an adult demographic, and they get carried away and present something that doesn't quite fit, then their idea will most likely be scrapped. I also thought it was important reign in my ideas as much as possible. Something I've noticed as a common problem is that some ideas are too ambitious. While the ideas themselves aren't necessarily bad, the project could easily be deemed as something unachievable. It's important to think about resources when planning. In my opinion, an overly simple idea is better than a complicated one.


After I first heard the main idea for the game pitches (which was a mischief game inspired by 'Untitled Goose Game'), I initially struggled for ideas. I was thinking too much about a mischievious animal, and I that was what we were limited to. However, I read over the brief again, and discovered that there was a lot more creative freedom than I'd first assumed. I quickly thought of an idea involving stealth, and having to sneak around as a ninja. But that didn't strike me as mischievious; which was when I remembered Japanese folktales.


In ancient Japan, they have folktales about creatures known as Kitsune (literally translates to fox). Kitsune were said to have caused trouble and taken joy in it, which meant it was the perfect idea. The ninja that I orginally invisioned stealthing around could be joined by a Kitsune companion. However, my orginal idea was in 3D, but 3D stealth games are everywhere. To make things simpler, and to make the game more unique, I decided it should be 2D, which platforming elements.


To get all my ideas down, I created a PowerPoint presentation for the actual pitch:



It was thrilling when my pitch was picked to be one of the four projects. It amazes me that so many other people liked my idea, as I never share any of my personal work with anyone. This has not only built my confidence, but it also means that my vision for a game can be brought to life.


The trickiest part was picking the people I wanted to help me create it. Naturally, I would need a coder, a level designer, and a 2D artist/ animator. The hardest part was that I had multiple people pitch to me about doing the art, but I couldn't have three artists plus myself.


The group now consists of me, David, Louis and Charlie. I am happy with how things have turned out, as this means to workload will be balanced.



During the holidays, I did some concept art and moodboards for the project. I thought it was a good idea to get some of it done before the project actually started, giving us a head start. However, I didn't want to do too much, as I haven't been able to contact many of the group members.


I made sure to get lots of pictures and references together. I wanted to give everyone plenty to work with. Most of the images I gathered are from Japanese sources, however there is one page of Chinese inspired clothing and historical fashion. I made sure to include this, as I wanted the enemies in the vertical slice to be more Chinese themed, Japan and China share some of the same beliefs and mythology.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page