top of page

Synoptic Project - Production

During Production, I focused on created the images for the cutscenes and the animations for the characters. Although this doesn't seem like the amount of work I had in Pre-Production, it was a fair amount, as there were a lot of animations needed, and the cutscenes have a total of six different images.


There were other mini-projects I did during Pre-Production, which didn't have any effects on the rest of the project, but helped me with the rest of my work. Reading back through what I'd already done for the project Pre-Production also helped me a lot. I have a post about Pre-Production:




These are the finished images for the cutscenes, which I made in Adobe Photoshop. I think they all share the same style, which is something I worked hard on maintaining. I also learned a lot about using Photoshop, and how to create scenes quickly, which will help me a lot in the future.


This was made easier by the fact that I enjoyed creating the characters that feature in the various scenes, and the research I had to do on each of them. I had so much fun with this, that I turned it into a separate post:




I also did some animations for characters using Adobe After Effects, which I'd still like to spend more time using, as I'm not quite comfortable in the basics yet. However, it was a good program to animate in, and I managed to do quite a few animations in one day. I will admit that the animations are not the best they could be, but I tried my best to make them readable (which they are, they just need a lot of polishing).


I've already made a post detailing the process I went through while animating, which also includes the animations as they are now:



 

Although Production wasn't when I was most active, I predicted that this would be the case. Since I came up with the idea for the Project, it was only natural that I should take some sort of lead of things. In Pre-Production, I was much more involved in the programming side of the project than I am now. This was because I was relaying information to Charlie and Louis about the game's mechanics, and also to David, who has to work closely with them to design the levels.


In Pre-Production, my time was spent on an array of mini-projects, like writing up synopsises for the game's story, which then evolved into the script. These became storyboards, which I've now created the images for. Concept art was also something that I did during Pre-Production, which has helped immensely when it came to designing background characters later on.


Overall, although I didn't have a large array of tasks that needed to be done, I was able to spend more time on the tasks I did have. I think this helped me put a lot more time and effort into them, as if I'd had as much to get done as in Pre-Production, the research I did and the images I created for the cutscenes would've been rushed.


The amount of work I did in Pre-Production also allowed me to focus on other projects going on in college during Production, which is good, since it's nearing the end of the college year.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page