top of page

VFX Group Project - post production

Our last week of the project was spent editing the videos and images we had together. We only had half the week to complete the project, so we were all in a panic by eleven on Thursday (when the project was due).



This is the finished trailer we made. I didn't help much in post, but I had a say and advised people on what to do at certain points. For example, I helped Archie with creating the first UI (before entering the house), and how long the intervals should be between them appearing and fading out. If I could've done this part myself, I would've made the interval a bit longer, however, since we were short on time this was the simplest option.


A lot of the time during Post Production, I felt as though I couldn't be completely helpful, as I know what needs to be done, and what needs to happen in what order, yet I can't apply it into programs. This is most likely from my lack of experience with After Effects, and how I would be uncomfortable using it without full instruction. However, from the point of view of logic, I've got everything down.


We also had a few issues with priories, as Louis was keen to redo the Unreal render, which no one else had an issue with. I also found that we put off Post Production and editing for a while, as no one knew who was doing what, which also meant I ended up basically doing nothing.


If I could do this project again, I think I'd try and do some things in After Effects, maybe try to make the blend between the Unreal and live-action footage blend together better. I would also try to have more of a say and try to get more involved in the process of creation. I felt as if I came up with some of the ideas early on, did the filming, then was left with nothing else to do. I'd want to change that if we did something like this again.


I think our teamwork as a group early on was very good. We had a lot of fun coming up with ideas as to what the trailer could be of. The others did get carried away with some of the ideas, but I made sure that what we were doing was simple enough to complete in four weeks.


Overall, I thought this was a good project to do, as it showed us how working in a group can be. I found that our group was a little bit uncoordinated, and that we could've communicated better as to who was doing what (I ended up doing nothing most days, and Eduard edited the entire staircase shot without me even realising, as well as when I created a Risk Assessment chart without informing the others that I was doing it, etc.). Knowing this, however, I'm looking forward to going into the next group project, as I'm more familiar with the idea that work will be shared and critiqued and changed throughout a project.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page