top of page

VFX Group Project - Pre Production

Updated: Oct 1, 2019

This week, we started working on a four week VFX project. The project was to create a trailer for a Halloween VR game trailer, using cameras, VFX and movie cutting techniques. We started out by getting sorted out into our groups, and brainstorming ideas.


I got placed in a group with Archie, Louis and Eduard, and we started talking about filming in the woods with some sort of monster. At first, it seemed like we were going in the direction of a monster where we could VFX a person into something terrifying. However, then we started talking about having a creepy toy that would follow the camera man through different rooms (which would get worse and worse the more rooms you went through).



Before this, the first thing we discussed was the logo we would have. We didn't want to spend too much time on this, so Louis came up with 'Jufuo Studios' within a few minutes. He created an interesting logo, which looks like a reel of film with a J on it. This is the Padlet Louis put together, which shows the progression of the design.



I also did a small bit of concept art for the logo, using some of the things in the Padlet above.


Then, we went for the idea of it being a house for sale, and the estate agent would be the monster. After finding out that this would be too funny, we went back to the idea of toy, and instead changed it to a babysitter, who goes upstairs and finds a possessed baby. I thought it was important to keep reminding the team that this is a four week project, meaning we won't have time to do everything we wanted to. This was the most important part to me, as I'd rather have a project that's simple but perfect, than ambitious and half-baked.



These were the first storyboards that were drawn up by Archie. We later changed a few ideas to be easier to create. For example, we were originally going to model a foyer and staircase, but then we decided to film it in person. I volunteered to go to my Grandma's house and film multiple takes of walking up the stairs and pausing in front of three different doors.



This is the final storyboard we have. After this, we started to think about what we would be doing during and after production. We've decided that we want ambiance in the background, and I've thought about adding creaking footsteps to my edited version in the final week.


Another thing that is definite is that we want sound effects of a baby screaming and crying, which will be matched together and synced with the footage. We also decided to use a baby doll instead of a real baby or trying to model/edit one in with special effects.



I found the perfect doll to use for it. It's a 1930s baby doll, complete with a painted and cracking face. It's incredibly creepy, and perfect for VXF work.



This is a basic plan of my Grandma's foyer that I drew. The way I will film is stopping in one of three places before going up the stairs into one of three doors. At first, I was only going to go to one door, but there is an intersection of halls, meaning there are three doors. I decided to take two takes of each possible filming cuts. Because of this, I'll end up having about 18 takes.



I decided in the end to make myself a chart to keep track of all the takes I'll have to do. The 'P' stands for the three different pause positions I'll have. One in front of the door, one in the middle of the room, and one in front of the stairs.


I will also be pausing at the three doors upstairs so that a UI can be input later in post (the whole reason for the pauses is to simulate a game with decisions). The 'D' stands for door, representing the three different doors I can go through.



Since our team hasn't yet started filming, I decided to create a Risk Assessment Chart for myself, as I will be the one filming the foyer and staircase shot. Since I've been there a lot, I know the risk of me injuring myself is low.



This is the chart for the forest pan in, which we will most likely film together. We don't yet have a location, but assuming it's in a public place like a footpath through a forest the chart should apply. I thought it was important to have something like this done early on to prevent accidents and to spread awareness.


A Gant chart will also be needed, but with so many variables (like filming, finding locations, modelling and texturing) it would be a good idea to save this for the first day of next week, where we can plan out exactly what we'll each do for the next two or three weeks.


Overall, the first week of the project has gone smoothly. I think I should've put myself out there a bit more, but since my skills don't lie in 3D modelling or VFX I was limited in what I could help out with. I decided that keeping a rein on things was the best possible option, and made sure none of us got too carried away with our ideas.


The plan for next week is for me to have footage recorded over the weekend, and bring it in and show the group. If they're satisfied with it, we can start editing it and add in a fake UI. If not, then I will go back up the next weekend to record again. This is a good plan, as that will give us plenty of time to get everything together. I will also need to bring in the baby to show the group to make sure it will work with what we have planned, and also discuss how we will go forward with filming it.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page