top of page

3D modelling a Jetpack 1

Updated: Jun 3, 2019

Today we started work on a 3D model of a jetpack. At the start of the lesson, we had to spend fifteen minutes on finding an example on google to work from. I chose a steampunk inspired image, and decided to write down some basic measurements and a scale. Because I wanted it to be somewhat realistic, I went with an overall size of 70x80.



The first thing I decided to do was try and create the main body of the jetpack, which is decorated with a fuel meter and heat gauges and a fan. As I was first creating bevels on the edges of it, I realized it would be easier to just start over and have subsections on the surface to create it easier.


This worked, but I realized that the bevel did not look right afterwards. However, I managed to create the jets and the connectors, so I am prepared to replace the main body if need be.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page