top of page

3D modelling an X Wing - Completed!

Updated: Jun 11, 2019

Today I finished making the X wing in Maya. All I had to do was create the blasters on the wings, and duplicate them.


I started by creating a cylinder and rotating it sideways. After that I moved and sized nit down to fit the sides. I extruded it out and offset it, making sure to stick to all the different views. The end flares out so I offset it by a negative number to give it the correct shape. While I was doing all of this I had taken screenshots, yet somehow I cannot find them. Very sorry, but hopefully the explanation makes sense on its own.


This is what the finished wings look like. I am very happy with how it turned out. All I had to do after this was combine the three parts of the wings. I then turned on grid-snapping (which makes objects that are being moved snap to the grid lines) and held the D key to move the rotation point down to the origin (which the centre of the grid).



Once I confirmed it was on the origin, I went to Edit, then to the Duplicate Special. This brought up a menu, and what I did was add a negative to flip it over the correct axis. I did this a few other times to get all the wings.



After that I added a cockpit by adding in a cube with three divisions on each side. All that was left to do was curve the edges and make sure it fit into the side view image. It did so I concluded that there wasn't much else I could add.



This is the wireframe I had before I duplicated the wings over to the other parts.


These are the original sketches for the x-wing.


This is the finished wireframe of the X-wing.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page