top of page

Creating a Lamp with Nurbs

Updated: Jun 14, 2019

In Maya, we learnt about Nurbs, and how we can use them in modelling. Nurb is short for Non-uniform rational b-spline. It isn't used as final models anymore, as it can't be textured or put into a game engine. It can, however, be turned into polygons, so we used this method to create a lamp and a shade.

The first thing I did was save in a good picture of a traditional lamp, and centered it on the horizon line of the grid. I did this so that if the lamp model was put into a game it would be above ground level. The second thing to do is to make sure the lamp lines up with the centre to get the body's shape right.

We then went onto the nurbs menu and selected the Bezier curve tool, which creates a curved line when you click and drag. I also put in straight lines to keep to the reference I had given myself. This took a few minutes of fighting the curves and making sure they lined up right before I decided it looked right. To accept it, I pressed enter, that way the line stops.

What I did next was select the option labelled Revolve. This will replicate the line around all the points, and create a nurbs model of it. Nurbs models have curves, and usually start being inside out models. To change this, I went into the Mesh Display menu, and reverse the faces outwards, so that they turned grey.

I then converted the model along with the shade over to a poly-model, by going into the Modify menu. I changed the settings to quads and selected the options to make the lamp smoother looking, as polygons can't curve.

After this, I created another Bezier line using the ariel view to have it as a cable. I then created a cylinder, sized it down and moved it to one of the ends before selecting all the faces on one end and the line. I then went into the extrusion menu and set the divisions to 100.This made it so the extrusion runs perfectly along the line, and curves along it as well.

I then started on a base shape of a plug. I ended up have to start again because I had forgotten to turn off the 100 extrusions. I made a similar shape and then extruded parts in and out to create the grips on the sides on the plug.

I added edge loops to create the nodes on the plug.

This is how it turned out. On the two smaller nodes there are tiny extrusions half way up to show the material change my reference image had. There is also a dip going all the way round the plug to make it look more like a manufactured vintage plug, which was what I had been going for (to match the lamp).

All I had to do was move the edges of the cable's extrusions to match the centre of the cable. I then combined all the lamp, the shade, the cable and the plug into one object, and moved it into the centre of the grid.

This is how it turned out. It's interesting to see the final product next to the original Bezier lines to see a comparison.


We then went onto UVing. I had a lot of problems with the lamp, as some of the faces didn't connect to where they should. I eventually gave up on trying to cut it sideways and instead cut it in horizontal groups.



It took a while to clean up the UVs, but I eventually managed to space them out. I also looked at the wireframes to make sure everything was okay as well.


I then assigned different materials to the two parts of the lamp. the lamp and the shade. I then exported it out as an FBX file and loaded up Substance Painter.

I went with a simple, shiny wood texture to make it too vintage like the original picture. I made it shinier to make it look more valuable.


I gave the lamp shade a wool texture and coloured it cream to make it look more realistic.



Overall I think I did well with the project, although I came across a few problems, I easily fixed them. Nurbs are useful, and an easy way to model something with a symmetrical pattern on all sides. This will not be as useful for objects with no similar sides.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page