top of page

Robot designing

Updated: Jun 10, 2019

We were tasked with creating our own robots to model. The rules were that the robots had to be biped, and humanly built (having only two arms, a torso, and two legs). It was a lot of fun taking inspiration from other robots to design my own.



This is the concept I drew up. It was inspired a lot by human anatomy, as I wanted to stick to the biped requirement of the brief. I took into account the more defining bones on the human body, such as the spine, shoulder blades, ribs and hips. I also tried to keep the robot looking 'gender neutral' as I didn't want the robot to have a specified gender.


On the left side, I looked more into the anatomy, and thought about how the main body of the robot would move without being restricted. That is one of the reasons I left the waist area 'exposed', so it looks like a thick, centred spine to give the body a little more natural movement.


On the right side, I looked more into designing the head, limbs and giving the robot a personality. The arms and legs have the same design to make things more simple when it comes to modelling. The head is also a simple shape to make adding the detail easier. I had a go at giving the robot a little bit of personality, and figured it would be funny for it to be holding a phone (which is essentially another robot).


To make modelling easier for myself, I got some graph paper and started on drawing the robot. I only drew one half, as the design is symmetrical, and can be flipped to complete the blueprint. I also used human proportions to create this reference image.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page