top of page

Advanced Editing for TV and Film - Introduction

The third project I was introduced to this year was another VFX one. This time, were were in with the Moving Image HND students, doing the same project as them. This project is to create a retro style trailer for a board or card game, using the same editing styles as the adverts back then.



I started by just listing out all the games that I have at home to see which ones I could turn into trailers. I also listed out a few ideas that expanded out into the rest of the page. My favourite idea was to use Uno Flip (a version of Uno with double-sided cards), play off some of the themes in Stranger Things, which has another world within it called 'The Upside-down.' Whilst this idea was my favourite, I also understand that the trailers we make aren't supposed to be purposefully comedic, so I scrapped this idea.


I grouped up with Chase, another VFX student, and we discussed our various ideas. Chase suggested that we do a spooky game, and suggested Zombie Cribbage, which is a game that he has. We agreed that it would be fun to do something a bit spookier, as it would mean editing would entail a lot more quick-cuts and rapid zooms.



Here is a quick mockup I did with an image I found here:



I used Photoshop to separate the channels and add a layer of grain and blur to the image. I also pushed the greens in the curves menu to go with the theme of zombies that Chase and I had agreed on.


Next week will be spent sorting out the details of what we want for our trailer.

Comments


bottom of page