top of page

ZBrush - Sculpting a Plant Part 2

Continuing on with this project, I decided to perfect some things I'd previously worked on before moving onto something new.



I went back to the flowerhead and upped the amount of topology it had in order to add more details. I also thinned out the back as well, which makes it daintier like I had drawn it in my design.



I then returned to the subtool I'd created of the combined stems. Currently, the stems aren't properly combined, and are instead. To fix this, I selected the Dynamesh option.



This combines all the geometry together, which I can then smooth out to look more natural.



I then switched back to the main project to edit the flowerbud's position, so that it fits in with the flowerhead better.



I also needed to make sure that the stem would connect well with the bud, so I made sure to extend the stem out to fit better. I then turned the visibility of the separate stems off, and imported the combined version, which gave me a better feel for how everything was going to fit together.



I then decided to start creating thorns for my plant. I started by creating a new sphere, and then sculpting it into a small tooth-like shape to work from.



I then smoothed and gave the geometry a spike and then curved it inwards to mimick a spike. I remeshed it a few times to get the shape right.



I then started rotating and placing the thorns down along the back of the stem, which was dificult due to the irregular shape of the thorns.



I then turned the visibility of everything else off, and created a subtool of the stem's back thorns, which will make it easier for me to combine all the meshes once I've finished adding the thorns and final details.



I then repeated the process along the front of the stem, making sure to match up with the amount of thorns on the back of the stem. I then merged this group of thorns like I had with the previous group of thorns.



I then put thorns along the back of the connecting stem. I made sure to add a curve to the positions of the thorns on the stem to make it look more natural. I also decided to only add thorns on one side of the stem, so that I can mirror them accross easily and save myself some work.



That concludes my progress for now. My next goal is to finish adding the thorns and add any finishing touches to the plant.

Comments


bottom of page