top of page

Collaberative Project - Week 1 + 2

The final project introduced this term is another collaberative project, this time with the Moving Image Students. This project will require a varied set of skills, since the aim of the project is to contact a charity or organisation and create a social media campaign for them. As a VFX HND student, I could be a valuable member of a group by creating and editing promotional footage to post.



The first and second lessons were spent with us brainstorming and forming groups. Above are some of the pages that I brainstormed ideas on, along with a list of all my skills and then how these skills could be used in this project.


I thought this was important to list down, as I wasn't sure what people I would end up being grouped with, and therefore wanted a concise list of my capabilities before the project started picking up any speed.


My main ideas for this project were to look for local charities focused on tackling climate change and global warming. I found various charities in the uk dedicated to this, such as Cool Earth, World Land Trust, and the Climate Coalition. I also found Marinet, who are campaigning to bring awareness to overfishing in British waters and prevent the destruction of the marine population.


I listed all of these down with brief bits of information about them for future reference. All of these organisations are on the larger side, so approaching probably wouldn't lead anywhere. This led me onto trying to find different companies within London, which I guessed would have a wide variety of companies. Using the website Charity Choice, I browsed through a few pages before finding two more organisations that I thought would be interesting to produce a campaign for.


The first charity I found was Surrey Docks Farm, who bring awareness to farming and food production. It's built on a historical site, and has gardening workshops and activities for those with learning disabilities. There is a lot I could campaign about here, and this charity greatly interested me, so I noted it down in greater detail.


The second charity I found was the Gaia Foundation, who are trying to bring awareness to indigenous cultures around the world, and show how modern society and the economy could one day erase them. A charity that wants to uphold and celebrate global diversity is also one that would give a wide range of topics to explore and research.


There is another section on the page, however, this was added later, so it will be discussed below along with everything else from Week 2 to avoid complication.


Week 2 had us thinking more about our ideas, as well as how to move forward with them. Since we weren't formally in groups yet, I was still brainstorming ideas.



I had a new idea in the second week. A family friend owns a jewellery business, and with the project leading up to Christmas, it would be a great time to create a campaign to market her business to potential customers.


By this point, me and the other VFX students had decided on just working together as a team of three. We all discussed and shared our ideas. Chase had the idea to create a campaign to bring awareness to the situation in South Africa, which I wrote out on a chart above. Whilst it would give us a lot to talk about, the subject may be too sensitive and branching for us to explore and represent properly.


Although I didn't write this one down, Cade had the idea to approach a charity organisation such as the British Heart Foundation. This is a big organisation, so finding a smaller charity with similar goals would be more achievable.


While talking, we all agreed that finding something we were all interested in would be difficult. As a backup, I wrote down that we could find a local Games Company and volunteer to promote them (either an upcoming game or evening hiring and work opportunities). This could be something that we could all be interested in.


This sums up the frist two weeks of the project. My next task is to get in contact with the owner of the jewellery business and see if she'd be interested in this proposition.

Comments


bottom of page