top of page

Collaberative Project - Week 3

Week 3 saw me sending an email to the family friend on the weekend, and waiting for a response. Since I did not get one, I made sure my group was still searching for charities to contact.



I started by creating a list of a variety of different organisation that came to mind. Most of these are local and in the Epsom and Ewell area. I listed all the charities on the highstreet of Epsom, which gave me a fair few to work with. However, these are all big organisations, so contacting them probably wouldn't garner any results. I also listed out some game companies in Guildford. I did this because our course is more aimed at those things, which may make it easier to engage with the project. I also did this because a group discussion last week had Chase suggesting that we look into this.


When I ran out of charities, I started looking around Epsom for other businesses that we could run a campaign for, such as UCA, which is an art college with a range of courses. This could give us something to work with, since most school open days are this month. I also listed down Epsom College to be thorough.


One of the more interesting things I found was the Epsom Wells Community Association (EWCA), which is a local organisation in the Epsom Wells, dedicated to bringing the community in the area together. In 2015, they lost their building, and have been campaigning to raise awareness to their cause. This could be something that we could contact them about, as they already have a direction for us to take on social media.


As an afterthought, I listed down some local businesses such as pubs and garden centres, who could give us something to promote on social media. The final backup plan is that we just promote our own course on social media, which would mean contacting our course or department head.



The other members of the group (Cade and Chase) worked on a template email for us to use when contacting some of the charities. With a bit of reiteration, here is how the email currently reads.


This email could be changed depending on the type of organisation being contacted, which cuts down the time we would spend composing emails, which can be time consuming.



Cade created a log, which I added some of the options I had listed out above. I added in the emails, phone numbers and the type of organisation they were in the chart. I also added in a few extra rows to help us keep track of things, such as if we've contacted them, if we've got a response, and whether we've agreed to work with them.


I will be returning here to fill out more of the chart to ensure that we have a variety of option for the rest of the project.


That concludes the progress from this week, next week is when we will hope to have all our emails out there and be reseaving offers from some of them.

Comments


bottom of page