top of page

Collaborative Project - Week 12

Last Sunday was the first day I posted. This will be my routine, which may pick up over the holidays to twice a week on a few weeks. The steady feed of posts will hopefully be at a regular enough pace to in theory keep people engaged in the website. Since this will probably be an example website for another week or so, I can still go back and edit some of my posts to make them more intriguing and interesting.


A way I tried to make my post interesting was through images, which are used to demonstrate and show my progress. Since the post I created was of my 3D models, I had a lot of choices as to the images I would use. I carefully selected the images that showed parts of my processes, yet didn't require much context. Since some of the screenshots I took were of menus I used, I couldn't include those without the post becoming too long. I didn't want to give explanation of my every action, as that is something that would make the post long and likely bore anyone interested in joining the HND course. That's why I made the decision to add many images and brief explanations of the work I did to keep the post short and sweet.


All of the future posts I create will also follow this pattern, which will hopefully offer a bit of consistency in my posts, and make them quick and fun to read. I didn't want the posts I created to be daunting to someone who only wants a taste of what our course is about. I'd estimate the age of a target viewer of our website to be between 16 and 21, which could indicate the more images/videos/infographics would be better than complicated explanations. Since all the original posts I created on this site will be linked to it, anyone who wants more information on anything can simple look at my blog site to find that information. This strategy will hopefully attract the attention of anyone interested in joining the VFX, Animation and Games Industries.


Since Chase is still working on the website with the help of Cade, I have time to draft out all of my posts to be published. The original plan was for Chase to be the one to create the website, and Cade fell into the position as Course Rep to communicate between us and speak with Leigh about our website. Plans have changed, naturally, which puts in a position where I would say that we are behind in our project, as I would have expected to have the website published, and already have some feedback to work from.


The reason that the website has not yet been published may have been a mistake on my part, as I was unaware for a week or so that Cade and Chase had both been working on it. Until last week, I hadn't even known the password to access the website. This was my fault, as the password had been uploaded to a shared folder on Google Drive, and I had simply missed it whilst working.


There was also the factor of me working from home last week that could've factored into any counterproductive working. Thankfully, we had set up a WhatsApp group near the beginning of the project ,and have been using to to keep in contact throughout the project. Without this, our project probably wouldn't have gotten off the ground at all. This miscommunication has taught me a lot about communication between us, and I now feel a lot more confident in discussing issues we have in our work.


I finished the drafts for the Game Design Document, Unity Game, GDD Website, and Individual Project posts, which will save me a lot of time in the future. Other than this, the next thing on the agenda is to have people test out the website, record any feedback they give, and report it back to Chase and Cade. This may also give me an opportunity to edit the website, as I haven't yet, due to miscommunication and also being under the impression that our roles were different than what they currently are.

Comments


bottom of page